07860 755 201  |  kiyth@newarkninjutsu.co.uk

The Bujinkan System

The Bujinkan system of Ninjutsu comprises of 9 schools or ryu that have been incorporated over the centuries into one complete fighting system. The Bujinkan is headed by 34th Soke (head of family) Dr Masaaki Hatsumi from his HQ in Noda city, Chiba Prefecture, Japan. Hatsumi sensei, recognised as a “living treasure” by the Japanese government,  was handed the scrolls or the Ryu from the 33rd Soke, Toshitsugu Takamatsu before his death in 1972. The 9 ryu comprise Ninjutsu schools, samurai schools, and weapons schools. Togakure Ryu is the oldest of these schools and dates back to the late 12th century thus having the longest unbroken lineage.